Pulaski Heights United Methodist ChurchOn July 21, 1912, the cornerstone was laid “In presence of several hundred people of the suburb.” Rev. H. F. Buhler conducted the ceremony. Since that time, the church has grown steadily to a membership of 4,000 plus members. The campus has expanded and been renovated with the addition of the Norma Story Children’s Building and the Dr. James B. Argue Christian Life Center, also known as the Great Hall or simply the gym. In 1998, the sanctuary underwent an extensive renovation which included the installation of a 74-rank organ with 4,190 pipes; 20 cast bronze bells with strikers were added to the original four peal bells. The Nixon Disciple Center, parking deck and Columbarium were added in 2005.
Since its formation, the church has strived to serve as an outward and visible expression of God’s love. The ministers and congregation seek to transform lives while remaining steadfast to the stability of God’s Word. We achieve this not only with our ministries inside the church but several community initiatives and mission work abroad. Kenneth Shamblin, senior pastor when the sanctuary was built, used to say that our church needed to reach the point when we spent as much on others as we did ourselves.
While Pulaski Heights United Methodist Church enjoys a rich history of Biblical teaching, outstanding preaching and inspired music ministries in the historic Hillcrest neighborhood, the staff and membership realize that the church’s ability to impact the world with a Biblical message of Christ in the future is what matters most.